

Iowa FFA Association

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier** leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

FFA Enrichment Center 1055 SW Prairie Trail Parkway Ankeny, IA 50023

Contact: Scott Johnson (712.790.2345)

www.iowaffa.com

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2013 IOWA FFA SECRETARY'S BOOK CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

85th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Secretary's Book Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 22, 2013. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the Waverly-Shell Rock FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. David Carlson. The second place chapter for the event was the East Sac FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Ben Wise and Ms. Larissa Rupnow.

The Secretary's Book requires the Chapter Secretary to keep complete and accurate records of the chapter's activities. Chapter Secretary's must include the chapter FFA roster, meeting agendas, meeting minutes, committee reports, and copies of all chapter correspondence. The Secretary's Book Career Development Event is sponsored by the Oelwein FFA Chapter, through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The Iowa FFA Association has 216 local chapters with 13,403 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 550,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Listed below are the results for the Secretary's Book Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s) 1 Hayley Folkerts		Chapter P. O. Waverly	Rating Gold
2	Jenny Obman and Sarah Stark	Lake View	Gold
3	Brianna Cook	Fairbank	Gold
	Sarah Clark	Albia	Silver
	Andrea Beck	Corning	Silver
	John Maubach and Jess Miller	Webster City	Silver
	Kellie O'Byrne	Akron	Bronze
	Ciera J Askildson	Belmond	Bronze
	Alex Irlbeck	Carroll	Bronze
	Amanda Ratliff	Eddyville	Bronze
	Caitlyn Saxton and Austin DeLong	Leon	Bronze
	Tayler Foster	Wellman	Bronze

#####